Franklin Chamber Announces 2022 Award Recipients

Franklin Chamber of Commerce | April 13, 2022

Franklin Chamber of Commerce Indiana

Kathy Ballou (center) with Chamber Director Rosie Chambers (left) and Chamber President Kristen Loy (right).

Franklin Chamber of Commerce Indiana

Franklin Development Corporation President Kim Kasting (second from left), Treasurer Lisa Jones (middle) and Secretary Amy Richardson (second from right) with Chamber Director Rosie Chambers (left) and Chamber President Kristen Loy (right).

Franklin Chamber of Commerce Indiana

Franklin Heritage Executive Director Rob Shilts (center) with Chamber Director Rosie Chambers (left) and Chamber President Kristen Loy (right).

The Franklin Chamber of Commerce is pleased to announce its 2022 Annual Meeting award recipients. Nominations for local organizations and individuals were sought from the community as a way to acknowledge excellence in the business community and beyond. After the nomination and selection process, recipients were announced during the March 10 Franklin Chamber Annual Meeting which featured the Franklin State of the City Address by Mayor Steve Barnett.

Community Service Award: Kathy Ballou

The Community Service Award recognizes an individual or organization that has contributed significantly to the Franklin Community, serving selflessly without intent for personal or monetary gain. Kathy Ballou was recognized for bringing The Wall That Heals Traveling Vietnam memorial to Franklin in June of 2021. Kathy led the initiative and coordinated fundraising efforts and volunteers. More than 11,000 visited the memorial over three days while it was at the Johnson County 4-H Fairgrounds.

Community Impact Award: Franklin Development Corporation

The Community Impact Award recognizes a business or organization that has demonstrated outstanding business success in the areas of growth, stability and commitment to quality of life and overall contribution to the community. The Franklin Development Corporation was recognized because of its residential grant and loan program, along with a commercial façade grant and low-interest revolving loan program. To date, FDC has partnered with a total of 221 property owners on renovation projects, resulting in the noticeable change to the aesthetics of Franklin’s residential and business communities as well as increased economic impact as more and more people choose to live, work and play in our city.

Business Hall of Fame Award: The Historic Artcraft Theatre

The Business Hall of Fame Award recognizes a business or organization in business for 25 or more years. The award is presented to a business based on their success in growth and stability, commitment to quality, and overall contribution to the community.

In its 100-year existence, the Artcraft Theatre has hosted countless first dates, gatherings of friends and family, and entertained thousands. It is one of the few remaining theaters in the state dedicated to exhibiting movies on 35mm film as its primary format. The theater is operated by a small staff and a volunteer base and is listed on the Indiana State and National Register of Historic Places. The revival of the theater was pivotal in the revitalization of historic Downtown Franklin

“We are honored to recognize these local organizations who exemplify excellence and the cooperative spirit we value in our business community”, Rosie Chambers, Executive Director.